Skip to main content
Our Story

Our Story

The exciting dining concept serving modern Thai seafood in one of the Bangkok's most iconic landmarks, The House on Sathorn.

Taking its name from the Thai word ‘Paii', which means to paddle, the new restaurant presents the best of local and imported seafood while honouring the legacy of the founder of The House on Sathorn, Luang Sathorn Rajayutka, who created Sathorn Canal.
  • Ingredient
    Ingredient

    Fresh & Live

    At Paii, our culinary team led by Chef Joe Weeraket Nilayon only selects the best of local and imported seafood. Some of seafood items sourced from specific regions from all over the world such as scallop from Hokkaido, Japan, Jean-Paul oysters from France, black mussels from New Zealand and more. Not only imported seafood, diners can also enjoy local seafood like mud crab from Samut Songkhram, banana squid from Chonburi and much more.
  • Our Recipes
    Our Recipes

    Signature Dishes with Authentic Thai Flavors

    With a home inside one of Bangkok's most recognisable food and drinks venues, Paii Executive Chef Joe Weeraket presents a menu bursting with flavor. Highlights include the local Giant River Prawn, char-grilled and served with "choo chee" curry sauce; the French Razor Clams, flambéed table-side with house-made XO sauce; and the French Turbot, stuffed with lemongrass, shallots and kaffir lime leaves and baked in a thick Thai herb salt crust. Diners will not want to miss the Giant Crab Fried Rice, made with organic jasmine rice from Nakhon Pathom. The plate is designed for sharing and topped with no less than half a kilo of freshly steamed Surat Thani mud crab meat.
  • The Venue
    The Venue

    Bangkok's Iconic Landmark

    Located in the heart of Bangkok, The House on Sathorn is a neo-classical structure dating from 1889. It functioned first as private residence and by the 1920s had become a hotel, then later from mid-century to 1999 served as site of the Russian embassy. Today, the building is registered as a national heritage site and serves as home to Paii.

    Paii offers both indoor and outdoor seating options.

  • 1888
    Yom Bisalayaputr bought up land in the Silom area. Later, he started to build the canal and roads and then sold the land to others. From his accomplishments in the community, he was granted the title ‘Luang Sathorn Rajayutka' by King Rama V.
  • 1889
    It is assumed that Luang Sathorn Rajayutka constructed the building on this land in this year.
  • 1895
    Luang Sathorn Rajayutka passed away with Cholera at the age of 38.
  • 1896
    The ownership of the building and the land were passed on to his eldest daughter, Cham. Later, Cham got married with a Hainanese man, Luang Chitrchumnongvanich (Thomya Rongavanit), who then took charge of all Luang Sathorn Rajayutka's businesses.
  • 1916
    Luang Chitrchumnongvanich sold this building and the land to the King's private holding and moved out from the building.
  • 1925
    The building was given to Chaophraya Ramrakhop by King Rama VI.
  • 1926
    Chaophraya Ramrakhop sold the land with the building to the King's private holding. After that, the building was lent to an Italian lady, Madame A. Staro and became "Hotel Royal".
  • 1948
    From 1948 - 1999, the building was leased to the Soviet Union as the first Russian Embassy in Thailand.
  • 2001
    The Department of Fine Arts issued an official statement announcing the mansion as a registered national archeological site.
  • 2003
    The building is leased to North Sathorn Hotel Co., Ltd (W Bangkok). The company started to renovate the building along with consultation from the Department of Fine Arts. In 2015, The House on Sathorn was launched as part of W Bangkok.
Previous Slide Next Slide

In the Press

    Reserve